The Adjutant General’s Corps (AGC) was formed in 1992 following the decline in the Soviet threat after the end of the Cold War. The British Army downsized and streamlined, and a number of administrative corps combined to form the AGC, with the purpose of supporting all elements of the British Army at home and abroad.

The AGC is formed of six branches: Staff and Personnel Support (SPS); Educational and Training Services (ETS); Army Legal Services (ALS); the Royal Military Police (RMP); Military Provost Staff Regiment (MPSR); and the Military Provost Guard Service (MPGS) which was formed in 1997.

The Regimental Headquarters is located at Worthy Down, the former home of the Royal Army Pay Corps. The four branches are attached to units all over the UK and abroad. The AGC have been part of every operation of the British Army since formation in 1992.

For antecedent histories, please use the menu on the left.

AGC Freedom of Winchester Parade, 2008